0 comments / Posted by

At Radiant Bay we are passionate about natural diamonds, their history, beauty and uniqueness.

Diamonds are Nature's creation, many having been formed more than 3 million years ago. They have undertaken an extraordinary journey to reach us, starting deep in the earth's core under immense heat and pressure. Over billions of years some diamond bearing rocks were forced nearer the earth's surface and, on approaching the surface, diamonds were born in an explosion of power and fire. Some of these natural wonders have been found today and we use only these natural diamonds in our jewellery.

Each diamond carries with it a unique and exciting history, which inspires such passion and joy in ownership of the most rare of gems.

Diamonds are unique, mysterious, and beautiful.

They say diamonds are a girl’s best friends, and many follow the stereotype that it is always women who swoon over diamonds, but if it we looked closely we’d find that men too have fallen victims to a diamond’s enthralling brilliance.

So what is it that has made diamonds so fascinating? Have you ever thought about what exactly makes them shine bright? Well, we thought of giving you access to experts who will share all they can on this precious dear friend of ours.

Diamonds have been around for approximately 6,000 years, and are known as the hardest material on Earth. Though they may look alike, each natural diamond is unique. There are key characteristics that define a diamond’s value popularly known as the 4Cs: Cut, Clarity, Colour and Carat.


You know the sparkle that reflects in your eyes when you see a diamond? This sparkle is actually a result of the way that the diamond is cut.

To put it simply, cut is all about the symmetry and dimension of the facets of a diamond. These facets are meant to behave like a hall of mirrors. They direct light into the diamond having it bounce back at us, giving out that mesmerising sparkle. So when cutters or lapidaries meticulously and mathematically cut diamonds, they are not only trying to enhance the diamond’s durability, but also aim to radiate the best sparkle.


(Excellent) Ideal

These diamonds are of the highest cut grade. They are known to display optimum fire and sparkle.

(Very Good) Fine Cut

Diamonds classified into this category have slightly less brilliance and scintillation.

(Good) Good Cut

The difference between Good and Very Good cut diamond is very slight. Good cut diamonds tend to allow some light to escape through them.

(Fair) Shallow Cut

Fair diamonds tend to appear dull and lack lustre because light is lost from the bottom of the gem.

(Poor) Deep Cut

A Deep Cut diamond displays poor sparkle as light escapes from its sides.


We all think of diamonds as crystal clear gemstones. However, when you take a closer look at them (under 10x magnification to be precise) they have what you call blemishes or inclusions, like scratches, fissures or air bubbles within them. The size, number, position and nature of these inclusions are what determine the clarity of a diamond i.e. diamonds are graded on how clear they are on the inside.


Flawless (FL)

Flawless diamonds are free of inclusions, blemishes or any other natural imperfections. Coming across a flawless diamond is extremely rare, which is why they are very highly priced.

Internally Flawless (IF)

Internally Flawless diamonds too are free from inclusions; however they may have minor blemishes on their surface. These diamonds too are very rare and expensive.

Very Very Slightly Included (VVS)

These diamonds have minute inclusions that can only be visible under 10x magnification. They are just as rare as IF diamonds, but they are an excellent choice as they are not as heavy on the pocket as IF diamonds.

*Many graders further classify this into VVS1 and VVS2 ( VVS1 displaying slightly high clarity and more expensive than VVS2)

Very Slightly Included (VS)

VS diamonds have tiny inclusions that can only be detected under 10x magnification. Diamonds of this clarity grade have recently been gaining popularity not only because they are less expensive, but also because these diamonds are considered to be eye clean, i.e. the inclusions are not visible to the naked eye.

*Many graders further classify this into VS1 and VS2 (VS1 displaying slightly high clarity and more expensive than VS2)

Slightly Included (SI)

Diamonds will have inclusions that are visible to an unaided eye, and may also be easily detectable under 10X magnification. Depending on the placement and colour of the inclusions, these stones may appear to be almost eye clean and therefore offer exceptional value for those who wish to maximise their budget.

*Many graders further classify this into SI1 and SI2 (SI1 displaying slightly high clarity and more expensive than S12)

Included 1 (I1)

Diamonds have obvious inclusions that are visible to the naked eye.

Included 2 (I2)

Inclusions are obvious under 10 x magnification, and even to the naked eye.

Included 3 (I3)

Imperfections are large and obvious to an unaided eye. They may be within or at the surface level of the diamond.


Diamonds aren’t always white or colourless. The diamond’s value is influenced by the hue and intensity of its colour. Sometimes there are impurities that mix with a diamond’s structure, causing its colour to be altered. So when a diamond is graded on colour, it means that it is classified based on how colourless or ‘white’ the stone is- less the colour, the more rare and valuable it is likely to be.


Colourless D-F

This is that one time when getting a D, E, or an F is good. These diamonds are colourless i.e. they have no traces of colour or yellowness in them. Only trained professionals will be able to spot the difference between these D, E, and F graded diamonds. Diamonds in this colour grade range are rare, and very expensive.

Near Colourless G -J

These have subtle traces of colour, making it a popular colour grade range as they are less expensive than the colourless range.

Faint Yellow K - M

These diamonds have a slight tint of yellow that is detectable by the unaided eye, and hence have a lower value that the previous two grades. These slightly colour diamonds may be appealing to some, considering personal taste.

Noticeably Yellow N – R

Diamonds in this range are visibly yellow or brown without magnification.

Yellow S – Z

All diamonds in this colour grade range are noticeably yellow or brown, even though they are considered as ‘white diamonds’. Oddly enough Z grade diamonds are rare to come across.


The size of a diamond is defined by its carat weight (cts). Now some people dream of that 10 carat diamond on their finger, but it is possible for diamonds of two different sizes to have the same carat weight. There are times when diamonds are cut to maximise the carat weight at the expense of its shine or sparkle, so big diamonds don’t always promise a brighter sparkle.

So now that you know all the 4Cs, are you ready to invest in that piece of sparkle that you have had your eye on?

If you still have any questions, get in touch with us, and our in-house experts will guide you through your purchase.

Contact Us


comments powered by Disqus